Mark Stefanik: Cheer up Elaine Nekritz.

Fred Klonsky

IMG_1036

– By Mark Stefanik. Mark is a middle school language arts teacher and frequent contributor this site.

Amidst the wide range of reactions to the Illinois Supreme Court’s overturning the 2013 Pension Law, one, in particular, seized my attention.      

At first, I was in the moment, giving full rein to my own joy. I believe that life is an adventure; a never-ending series of ups and downs, and that one should celebrate the highs when they happen. Relish them. Carpe diem. Release the joy. Gather the strengths. Express gratitude to the Cosmos. Whatever.

So in my imagination, I partied.

  • Thought I’d rattle the ‘slippery slope’ conservatives. Put a giant picture of FDR in the back of a pickup truck plastered with union decals . Drove it around the North Shore with the speakers blaring, “Happy Days are Here Again.”
  • Deleted my viral burst of job applications to…

View original post 411 more words

About kentmcdanielwrites

Writer and musician.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

