“All The Alligators” II

I co-wrote the song on the video below, with my friend Tom Naue a long time ago . He and I wrote the words, which for a rockabilly song, are a little different. I wrote the music, which just happened to come out rockabilly. On the video, that’s Dorothy McDaniel on bass and vocals, Alpha Stewart on drums, and me on guitar and vocals. It was recorded  with a Zoom Recorder April, 2014 at Silvies on Chicago’s north side .

In 2008 I recorded a studio version of the song  and included it as a bonus track on my Live at Custer Street album. The main differences between it and the live version is that it contains a second rhythm track and has another lead track during the instrumental break. Also, Robert Marshall who recorded the studio version at The Cave Recording, always shoots for a great drum sound. So he recorded the drums using twelve separate microphones. On the video, of course, the Zoom picked up everything on two small condenser mikes. Anyway you can hear the studio version by clicking on the icon below.

 

 

For those of you who like to know the words, I’m including them below, but I want to talk about them. They aren’t the best lyrics I ever wrote, but they were the most fun to write for sure. In a cafe, Tom Naue and I happened to overhear a remark that make us sit up an take notice, and it seemed like we were sitting in the middle of the song. I had a notebook and pen, and before we knew it, I was jotting down the lyrics we came up with. Tom was laughing, his eyes lighting up like fireflies every time either of us came up with a line. It took about twenty minutes to write the words. After which we went over to my place and I used my cheapo acoustic guitar to put them to music. Which was fun and easy, too. I didn’t think much about it that evening–except, man that was fun. But I’ve played that song for decades at gigs, both as a single and in band. I recorded it on an album, and here I am forty years later posting it on the internet. I think back on the two kids writing  the words back then, and it’s like, hey, boys, just wait. You’re gonna see some weird shit.

Anyway, here’s those lyrics.

 

ALL THE ALLIGATORS

EVERYTHING AND NOTHING’S REAL, SHE SANG

AS THE WAITRESS TIPPED THE WAITER

AND MADE PROMISES FOR LATER THAT NIGHT

AND SOON SHE LOOKED AT THE FLOOR LIKE STONE

AND SHE COULDN’T HELP BUT GROAN

CAUSE SHE KNEW THAT WAS SOMETHING

SHE COULD NOT BELIEVE

CHORUS:

AND ALL THE ALLIGATORS SIPPING COFFEE ALL AROUND

THEIR METHEDRINE SMILES AND CHATTER TIGHTLY BOUND HER

OBVIOUSLY THEY HADN’T FOUND HER

THOUGH SHE WAS ONE OF THEM

NOW ANOTHER SAT DULLY STARING

WITHOUT THE HEART FOR GLARING

WHAT BURDEN HE WAS BEARING

SHE WOULD NEVER KNOW

AND THE NEON LIGHT WAS BUZZING

WHILE EVERYONE WAS LOSING

THEIR PLACES CAREFULLY CHOOSING THAT NIGHT

CHORUS

SHE SANG, I BELIEVE IN EVERYTHING AND NOTHING

BUT THE ALLIGATORS KNEW THAT SHE WAS BLUFFING

 

About kentmcdanielwrites

Writer and musician.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

