Happy Veteran’s Day!

I was a sophmore, too, when I discover him, but in college. Picked up Slaughterhouse Five and within a week had read everything Vonnegut had out there at that time.

Street of Dreams

Today is a day we celebrate Veterans, thus I’d dedicating this post to my literary hero, Kurt Vonnegut.

I was a sophomore in high school when I first picked up Slaughterhouse Five. I’d never read anythinImageg from Vonnegut, but I was a sixteen year old pretentious English nerd and after just finishing Steppenwolf, I was looking for other books that literary minded people were suppose to read.

What I found was so much more.  The sheer chaotic brilliance of his work is something words can’t described. It has to be experience. It has to be read. His work took me, in the first few pages, to worlds I’d never experience before. I was hooked. While my peers read Twilight or Harry Potter, I cried with him through Mother Night and tip-toed to the edge in Galapagos.

Even more amazing, though than his works, may be the…

View original post 162 more words

About kentmcdanielwrites

Writer and musician.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

