“A Sunny Day”

We’ve been having a lot of them, and I’m glad. I like them. But the title up there refers to a song of mine. (Available for download at Amazon and iTunes and everywhere else. The CD it’s on, About Time, is at www.cdbaby.com). I’m posting a video here of my wife Dorothy, our pal Alpha Stewart, and me playing it at this year’s Custer Street Fair in Evanston, Illinois. Some of the camera shots might be a little differnet, some of the camera angles, too, but I don’t mind. In fact, I like them. You get the bigger picture, a wider focus: It was around quarter after eleven on a clear Sunday morning in June. We were just kicking off our set, and people were starting to roll in, a lot of them heading for the shade. And everybody–band included–felt fine and mellow. Can you pick up on that?

Oh, and here are the lyrics:

A SUNNY DAY

 

IT’S A SUNNY DAY, A SUNNY DAY

                          IT’S THE MONTH OF MAY, THE MONTH OF MAY

               NEVER THOUGHT IT’D COME BACK AGAIN,

BUT SPRINGTIME IS HERE

              NEVER THOUGHT THERE’D COME AT TIME

I COULD LIVE WITHOUT FEAR

                                   BUT FRIENDS BEEN TURNING UP HERE AND THERE

EVERYWHERE

AND NOW I AM MYSELF ONCE MORE

I’M OPENING ALL THOSE DOORS

             I DON’T KNOW WHERE I’M GOING FOR SURE

     BUT IT’S NOT BACK TO DARKNESS

SEEMS LIKE I’M IN THE LIGHT

AND I WILL NOW CONFESS

THAT I CANNOT FIND WORDS

THEY WILL NOT COME TO ME

   WORDS TO TELL THIS FEELING

SINGING OUT THAT I’M FREE

AND IT’S A SUNNY DAY, A SUNNY DAY

                IT’S THE MONTH OF MAY. THE MONTH OF MAY

IT’S A SUNNY DAY, A SUNNY DAY

About kentmcdanielwrites

Writer and musician.

3 Responses to ““A Sunny Day””

  1. Had a look at the Sunny Day song. It was an interesting event, in an interesting place, and I was glad of the chance to see you on film.

    Mayhaps you could do the same piece at the coming convention.

  2. Apraicipteon for this information is over 9000-thank you!

Leave a Reply

