“The Time Awaited”

I’m posting a video of this song of ours from our last show at The Heartland. I wrote this one (back in the mists of prehistory), and I’ve always sung it when we play out. It occured to me, though, that Dorothy could probably sing it better, and I suggested it to her. That was a couple weeks before the gig, this was the first time she ever sang it, and she sang it great. (I knew she would.)

I wrote this around midnight one summer night in the early 1970’s, sitting on the hood of my car in front of my folks house on Metropolis Street. It just flowed right out–the way I wish all writing of all kinds would for me. I was writing about experiencing  spiritual renewal after a time of emotional dryness. But some people have told me it makes them think of some Zen searcher finally attaining his goal–enlightenment. Others say it seems to be about a New Age. My mom thinks it’s about the Second Coming. I guess maybe I didn’t make myself clear. On the other hand, I like to think that writers are sometimes channeling the collective unconscious and may be saying more than they understand or know.

The night we recorded it at the Heartland, we weren’t thinking much about all that, though. We were jamming.

Here are the lyrics:

THE TIME AWAITED

 

  LAY DOWN YOUR STRUGGLE, FORGET YOUR STRUGGLE

OOH, SWEET DELIGHT

FLOWS ALL ROUND YOU; IT’S FINALLY FOUND YOU 

OOH, SWEET DELIGHT

 

CHORUS:

IT HAS COME, THE TIME AWAITED, IT HAS COME

 

YOU WALK INTO SUMMER; IT FILLS YOU; YOU WONDER

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN SO LONG?

NIGHT SKY IS SINGING; THE MOON IS SHINING

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN SO LONG?

(CHORUS)

YOUE EYES CATCH FIRE, YOU FEEL YOUR DESIRE

FLOW LIKE LOVE TO THE SEA

ACROSS BRIGHT BLUE SKY, GOLD STALLIONS THAT FLY

FLOW LIKE LOVE TO THE SEA

(CHORUS)

“The Time Awaited” copyright 1973 by Kent McDaniel (me).

“The Time Awaited” is on the CD  About Time by Kent McDaniel, which is available at www.cdbaby.com. Downloads of the song are available at www.amazon.com and just about everywhere else downloads are sold.

About kentmcdanielwrites

Writer and musician.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a comment